Friedrich Gräsel (1927-2013)   Hannover Tor  / Hanover Gate  1978/1981

Edelstahl, geglüht / stainless steel, annealed








 

















Friedrich Gräsel at the Moltkeplatz  31 May 2008


Friedrich Gräsel on his sculpture "Hannover Tor / Hanover Gate": 

My gates are route markings. Sometimes they mark imaginary tracks that lead up to or away from them.

You can pass through the "Hannover Tor / Hanover Gate" or walk round it. - You can thus experience the interior and the exterior of the gate´s space step-by-step.

The combination of walking and looking makes the observer an observer-actor and reveals to him step-by-step the interaction between the forms and the meaning of the whole.

The gate´s passage space is therefore transformed into a spce to linger and a place of  contemplation.

F.G. 2008  

(translated from German original)


The Hannover Tor / Hanover Gate is mentioned in a compilation by the RuhrKunstMuseen on "Public Art Ruhr"; click here for the entry. It is also mentioned in the compilation Kunst im öffentlichen Raum / Art in Public Spaces in Nordrhein-Westfalen; click here for the entry.

On 22 Nov 2008 and 25 April 2009 Friedrich Gräsel opened his studio for a group of KaM members; more about those visits here.


On 13 Dec 2014 the three sons of Friedrich Gräsel opened the studio and store rooms of their late father (who passed away in 2013) for members and supporters of the association KaM, explaining and bringing to life the works stored there and available as part of their father´s oeuvre. Among others, a model of the Hannover Tor / Hanover Gate was on display. More about the visit here.




Other sculptures by Friedrich Gräsel in public spaces in Essen:

Stainless Steel sculpture untitled
1974
at the Auferstehungskirche / Church of the Resurrection (in a listing of the Otto-Bartning-Arbeitsgemeinschaft e.V.Auferstehungskirche in Wikipedia) at the corner of Manteuffel-/Steubenstrasse approx 500 m northeast of the Moltkeplatz (map from Moltkeplatz to Auferstehungskirche here, coordinates: 51 26 55,47 N  7 01 39,03 E); Friedrich Gräsel´s sculpture (dimensions 240 x 250 x 160 cm) is aimed at Otto Bartning´s central theme and gives the resurrection motif a sculptural treatment; and

Stainless Steel sculpture "Schiffsketten / Ship´s Chains" 1972; outside the Museum Folkwang, next to Goethestrasse. West of the Moltkeplatz, approx 2.200 m by foot (map from Moltkeplatz to the Museum here, coordinates: 51 26 29,64 N  7 00 12,51 E); the sculpture consists of two parts, dimensions are 120 x 120 x 280 cm, and 120 x 120 x 490 cm. The Museum Folkwang is the southern-most end of the City of Essen Kulturpfad / Culture Trail. The trail is marked by blue glass tiles set into the ground

 
Friedrich Gräsel in Wikipedia including literature

Friedrich Gräsel in Welt der Form including numerous pictures

Website of the estate of the late Friedrich Gräsel with numerous additional information

this page in English



Friedrich Gräsel (1927-2013)   Hannover Tor   1978/1981   Edelstahl, geglüht








 

















Friedrich Gräsel auf dem Moltkeplatz  31. Mai 2008


Friedrich Gräsel zu seiner Skulptur "Hannover Tor": (Zitat)

Meine Tore sind Wegemarken. Manchmal kennzeichnen sie imaginäre Wege, die zu ihnen hin- oder von ihnen wegführen. Das "Hannover Tor" kann man durchschreiten und umgehen. - Man erfährt so schrittweise die Innenseiten und die Außenseiten des Torraumes.

Dieses Spiel zwischen Gehen und Schauen macht den Betrachter zu einem Betrachter-Akteur und eröffnet ihm schrittweise das Zusammenspiel der Formen und die Bedeutung des Ganzen.

Der Wegraum des Tores verwandelt sich so zu einem Verweilraum und zu einem Ort der Kommunikation.

F.G. 2008


Das Hannover Tor ist erwähnt in einer Aufstellung der RuhrKunstMuseen zur "Public Art Ruhr"; für den Beitrag klicken Sie hier. Es ist ebenfalls erwähnt in der Aufstellung Kunst im öffentlichen Raum in Nordrhein-Westfalen; für den Beitrag klicken Sie hier. Für den Beitrag über Friedrich Gräsel klicken Sie hier.


Am 22. Nov. 2008 und 25. April 2009 öffnete Friedrich Gräsel sein Atelier jeweils für eine Gruppe von Mitgliedern des Vereins Kunst am Moltkeplatz KaM, die sich freuten, von ihm seine Werke gezeigt und erläutert zu bekommen, siehe hier.


Am 13. Dez. 2014 öffneten die drei Söhne Friedrich Gräsels das Atelier ihres Vaters für KaM-Mitglieder und -Unterstützer, erläuterten die vorhandenen Werke aus dem gesamten 
Œuvre ihres in 2013 verstorbenen Vaters und standen für Fragen usw. zur Verfügung. Hierbei war auch ein Modell des Hannover Tor zu sehen.
Mehr zu dem Besuch am 13. Dez. 2014 hier.


 

Weitere Werke von Friedrich Gräsel im öffentlichen Raum in Essen:

Edelstahl-Plastik o.T. 1974 bei der Auferstehungskirche (im Verzeichnis der Otto-Bartning- Arbeitsgemeinschaft e.V.Auferstehungskirche in Wikipedia) an der Ecke Manteuffel-/Steubenstraße etwa 500 m nordöstlich vom Moltkeplatz (Kartenausschnitt Moltkeplatz zur Auferstehungskirche, Koordinaten: 51 26 55,47 N  7 01 39,03 E); die Skulptur mit der Größe 240 x 250 x 160 cm zielt auf das Zentralmotiv des Kirchenbaumeisters Otto Bartning (Otto Bartning in Wikipedia) und nimmt das Auferstehungsmotiv skulptural auf (mehr dazu hier); sowie

Edelstahl-Plastik "Schiffsketten"1972; im Außenbereich des Museum Folkwang zur Goethestraße hin; westlich vom Moltkeplatz, Fußweg etwa 2.200 m (Kartenausschnitt vom Moltkeplatz zum Museum, Koordinaten: 51 26 29,64 N  7 00 12,51 E); die Skulptur ist zweiteilig, 120 x 120 x 280 cm und 120 x 120 x 490 cm. Der Bereich des Museums Folkwang ist das südliche Ende des mit blauen Quadraten markierten Kulturpfads der Stadt Essen. 

 
Friedrich Gräsel in Wikipedia u.a. mit Literaturverzeichnis

Friedrich Gräsel in Welt der Form u.a. mit Bilder-Galerie

Webseite zu Friedrich Gräsels Erbe mit einer Vielzahl weiterer Informationen